October 1 Annual Global Health and Peace Concert

Greater Boston PSR (GBPSR) and International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW) are pleased to host a very special fifth annual peace and health concert to address the twin existential threats of nuclear war and climate change. The special event will be streamed live on-line, beginning at 7:00pm, on Saturday, October 1st, 2022. This event will feature performances by Longwood Symphony Orchestra musicians and members from the Silkroad Ensemble, an international musical collaborative that was founded by cellist Yo-Yo Ma. Attendance to this virtual event is FREE, but sponsorships on behalf of both our organizations, no matter the amount, will be appreciated and put to good use.

If you are able, please donate to support a sponsorship for this inspiring musical and educational event. As a sponsor, you will not only aid IPPNW’s and GBPSR’s critical work to prevent the threats of nuclear war and climate change, but will be prominently featured in event publicity and to a large, unlimited on-line audience, including healthcare and business leaders. Last year’s live-streamed event included approximately 2,000 attendees.

Our Honorees for 2022 are Professors Alan Robock, Brian Toon, and Lili Xia who have pioneered critical research on nuclear winter and the climatic consequences of a limited nuclear conflict. IPPNW and PSR have worked together for decades to further our knowledge of the danger posed by nuclear weapons and to alert the public to this danger. The research from our 2022 Honorees was critical in the creation of our report: Nuclear Famine: Two Billion People at Risk. Over the last decade our work on the global catastrophe that would follow even a “limited” use of nuclear weapons played an important role in building support for the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

Since there will be no reception, we regret we cannot offer our customary food or drink, but we encourage you to sit back in your home, perhaps with a cocktail in hand, and enjoy the online presentations and performance.

Questions? Contact Michael Christ at (781)521-5183 or mchrist@ippnw.org.

2022 Honorary Committee

Susan Alexander and Sidney Alexander, MD
Ronald A. Arky, MD
Edward Campion, MD
Richard A. Cash, MD
MA Senator Joanne M. Comerford
MA Representative Josh S. Cutler
Goodarz Danaei, MD, ScD
Governor Michael and Kitty Dukakis
Lachlan Forrow, MD
Dean Sandro Galea, MD, DrPH
Joseph Gerson
Ira Helfand, MD
Joseph G. Hodgkin, MD
MA Representative Patrick J. Kearney
Jacqueline Dee King and Jonathan King, PhD
Regina LaRocque, MD MPH and Jason Harris, MD MPH
C. Robert Horsburgh, Jr., MD and Brita E. Lundberg, MD
Robert Jay Lifton, MD
U.S. Senator Edward J. Markey
Savina J. Martin, MS
Sheila Nutt, EdD and Mekonnen Meshesha, PhD
MA Senator Patrick M. O’Connor
Prasannan Parthasarathi and Juliet Schor
Dr. John O. and Marilyn A. Pastore
Bruce H. Price, MD
Jon E. Rohde, MD
MA Representative Lindsay Sabadosa
Kevin and Inge Sidel
Mark Sidel and Margaret Raymond
Elaine Scarry, PhD
Drs. Caren and Scott Solomon
Doris Sommer, PhD
U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren


Symphony — $10,000 (minimum)
Ira Helfand, MD and Deborah Smith, MD
Concerto — $5,000 (minimum)
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Lachlan Forrow, MD
Sonata — $2,500 (minimum)
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Harvard Medical School
Mass General Brigham
Drs. Carl and Susan Racine
The Wales Family
Prelude — $1,000 (minimum)
Cambridge Health Alliance
Amy Domini
Regina LaRocque, MD MPH & Jason Harris, MD MPH
Drs. Robert Horsburgh, Jr. and Brita E. Lundberg
Dr. Joe McCabe and Susan Anderson
Dr. Thomas Newman
Dr. Cornelia van der Ziel
The Village Bank


Minuet — $500 and up
Anna and Jonathan Baker
Mirret El-Hagrassy
Richard Clapp and Paula Georges
Eastern Bank
First Republic Bank
Sarabande – $250 and up
Joan and Peter Baker
William Beardslee, MD
Michael Christ
Barbara and Steven Grossman
Philip J. Landrigan, MD and Mary M. Landrigan
Lynn Linakis
Kim Marshall and Rhoda Schneider
MassGeneral Hospital for Children
Massachusetts General Hospital Dept of Medicine
MGH Division of Pediatric Global Health
Peter Moyer
Geoffrey Stein
Chaconne – $100 and up
Suzette Abbott, Marcia Barron, George Cani, Gordon Chase, Judith Chasin, David Drake, David Golan, Joseph Hodgkin, AnnMarie (Mia) Nehme, Peace Action Maine,
John and Betty Raby, Tilman Ruff, Francine Sohn, James Traver, David Weinberg
Passacaglia – $50 and up
Welcome Bender, Darby and Marc Cardillo, Marcy and Brian Concannon, Sydney Engel, Bella Feldman and Hans Grunwald, Sharan Harper, Linda Hermans, Dominic Hodgkin, Stephanie Linakis, John Loretz, Esther Rowland, Anne Sandstrom, Cathy Slesinger, Susan Wareham
Gigue — $1 to $49
Barbara Birkett, Dale Dewar, Johann Franke, Glenn Little, Susan Mirsky, Robert Rebman,
Nancy Stockford, Alan Wertheimer