October 21st Annual Global Health and Peace Awards

Greater Boston Physicians for Social Responsibility (GBPSR) and International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW) cordially invite you to join and support our presentation of this year's Global Health and Peace Awards, honoring Senators Elizabeth Warren and Ed Markey for the extraordinary work they have done as longtime leaders for climate action and nuclear disarmament.

Our special event will be in-person this year at Harvard Medical School’s Countway Library from 6:00-8:00pm on Saturday, October 21st, 2023.  We are thrilled to gather for some beautiful music, food and drink, and socializing with friends and colleagues who share our concern about the twin existential threats of nuclear war and climate change. A quartet from the Longwood Symphony Orchestra will provide the evening's musical entertainment.

Our event planning is taking place as a humanitarian catastrophe unfolds in Ukraine with the very real risk that the war could escalate to the use of nuclear weapons. Indeed, the danger of a nuclear war is greater now than at any time since the Cuban missile crisis. At the same time, scientists warn that global warming is rapidly approaching a climate tipping point, placing planetary survival at risk.

We would be thrilled to count you as a sponsor of this special event. Click on the sponsorship menu above for details. We welcome online donations or, if you prefer to send a check, you may mail your contribution to IPPNW (please note "2023 Annual Event" in the memo line) to:

IPPNW c/o Michael Christ
339 Pleasant Street, 3rd Floor
Malden, MA 02148

A sponsorship of $100 or more includes attendance for our in-person event. Limited seating will be available, so reserve your spot today by making a $100 contribution (per person) or more. Complimentary tickets are available for anyone who is passionate about our work but cannot afford to attend.

Questions? Contact Michael Christ at (781)521-5183 or mchrist@ippnw.org.

2023 Honorees

2023 Honorary Committee

Wynne Armand, MD

Gaurab Basu, MD

MA Representative Josh S. Cutler

MA Senator Jo Comerford

Governor Michael and Kitty Dukakis

Elijah Mandela Evans

Sandro Galea, MD, DrPH

Barbara and Steven Grossman

MA Representative Patrick J. Kearney

Sarah Kimani

Jacqueline Dee and Jonathan King, PhD

Phillip J. Landrigan, MD and Mary M. Landrigan

Logan Malik

UA Congressman Jim McGovern, MA-02

MA Senator Patrick M. O'Connor

US Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley

Mark Sidel and Margaret Raymond

MA Representative Lindsay Sabadosa

Elaine Scarry, PhD

Kevin and Inge Sidel

Doris Sommer, PhD

2023 Sponsorships

Symphony — $10,000 (minimum)
Ira Helfand, MD and Deborah Smith, MD

Concerto — $5,000 (minimum)
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Lachlan Forrow, MD

Sonata — $2,500 (minimum)
Harvard Medical School
Lundberg Health Advocates
Dr. Joe McCabe and Susan Anderson

Prelude — $1,000 (minimum)
Wynne Armand, MD and Philippe Armand, MD, PhD
William Beardslee, MD
Cambridge Health Alliance
Björn Hilt, MD
Drs. Carl and Susan Racine
Drs. Caren and Scott Solomon
The Village Bank
Dr. Cornelia van der Ziel

Additional Sponsorships

Minuet — $500 and up
Vijai Bhola, MD
Jonathan Baker and Anna Linakis
David Drake, DO
Eastern Bank
Clark Freifeld and Andee Krasner
Kathleen and James Muller, MD

Sarabande – $250 and up
Michael Christ
Regina LaRocque, MD MPH & Jason Harris, MD MPH
John Loretz & Anne Sandstrom
Margaret Woodruff

Chaconne – $100 and up
Suzette Abbott
Joan and Peter Baker
John Belge
Monica Bharel
Leonard Bunting
Pakhi Chaudhuri, MD
Eric Chivian, MD
Susan Entin
Robert M. Gould, MD
Rebecca Kano, MD
Zachary Kano, DMD
Joseph G. Hodgkin, MD
C. Robert Horsburgh, Jr., MD and Brita E. Lundberg, MD
Peter Moyer, MD, MPH
Renate Rose
Tilman Ruff

Passacaglia – $50 and up
Emily Bartlett

Gigue — $1 to $49

More Information